AAUP Statement of Purpose

The Biomedical and Health Sciences of New Jersey Council of AAUP Chapters represents the members of the several units of the health science schools of Rutgers and Rowan Universities in continual efforts to advance the cause of higher education and to improve conditions of faculty employment. The principal purpose of this Council is to work cooperatively to solve problems and take action with respect to matters of mutual concern, including:

  • • The maintenance and improvement of the quality of medical, dental and allied health education in New Jersey;
  • • The support of the principles and policies of AAUP, including academic freedom, shared governance, and tenure;
  • • The pursuit of quality and equity in academic employment relationships;
  • • The enhancement of the economic welfare and the work environment of the members of the Council of AAUP Chapters through collective negotiations and other mechanisms.

Excerpted and adapted from June 15, 2000 Biomedical and Health Sciences of New Jersey Council of AAUP Chapters Bylaws.

Join Today

“ AAUP-BHSNJ is the professional Bargaining Representative for more than 1,400 faculty members and librarians of the BHSNJ. 


As of July 1, 2013, based on the integration of SOM with Rowan University and the integration of the remaining units of the former UMDNJ with Rutgers University (as per the New 
Jersey Medical and Health Sciences Education Restructuring Act as of 2012) AAUP-UMDNJ became AAUP-BHSNJ.

 Faculty and Librarians of the former UMDNJ at both Rutgers and Rowan (and those hired into units of the former UMDNJ) are now part of the Biomedical and Health Sciences of New Jersey American Association of University Professors unit, AAUP-BHSNJ.