Public Employment Relations Commission (PERC)

The Public Employment Relations Commission is a seven-member commission established by the New Jersey Employer - Employee Act as an independent neutral agency to foster harmonious public sector labor relations and to prevent and/or promptly settle labor relations disputes.

The Commission was created soon after public employees won the right to unionize in 1968. Two Commission members represent public employers, two represent employee organizations, and three represent the public. The Governor appoints the Chair, one of the public members. A staff of experienced labor relations neutrals are also used in mediation, fact-finding conciliation and interest and grievance arbitration. Public employers covered by the Act are the State, Counties, Municipalities, local school districts, public colleges and universities, charter schools and autonomous agencies, authorities, boards and commissions. Employees of PERC are considered State employees.

06/24/2010 - PERC Clinical Component Appeal Clarification

12/17/2009 - PERC Scope of Negotiations - Academic Due Process

09/24/2009 - PERC Clinical Component Appeal

02/26/2009 - Hire Date v. Appointment Date Settlement

10/27/2008 - PERC Clinical Component Initial Decision

Join Today

“ AAUP-BHSNJ is the professional Bargaining Representative for more than 1,400 faculty members and librarians of the BHSNJ. 


As of July 1, 2013, based on the integration of SOM with Rowan University and the integration of the remaining units of the former UMDNJ with Rutgers University (as per the New 
Jersey Medical and Health Sciences Education Restructuring Act as of 2012) AAUP-UMDNJ became AAUP-BHSNJ.

 Faculty and Librarians of the former UMDNJ at both Rutgers and Rowan (and those hired into units of the former UMDNJ) are now part of the Biomedical and Health Sciences of New Jersey American Association of University Professors unit, AAUP-BHSNJ.